top of page
  • gatainfo

NATM Spotlight: Lori Uretsky

For National Athletic Training Month in 2022 we are exploring the theme “Providing Health Care Everywhere” and we can’t think of a better way to do that than to showcase some of our own outstanding athletic trainers. We’ll spend the month sharing with you the inside scoop from athletic trainers who are working in emerging settings and unique positions. So read on and enjoy!



Lori Uretsky, MEd, LAT, SCAT, ATC, LMT, BCTMB, PES, CES, NAT


Where did you go to school? Graduated from Waynesburg College in Waynesburg, PA with a Bachelor of Science in Sports Medicine and a Biology Minor. Then went to the College of New Jersey in Ewing, NJ for a Master in Education in Health Education with a Health Science Concentration. Also attended the Myotherapy Institute of Massage.


Current AT Setting: Military


Employer: Reef Systems, Corp.


Years at current job: Over 4 years


Who are your "athletes"? My "athletes" are the Pilots, Special Mission Aviators, and Support Personnel of the 41st Rescue Squadron at Moody Air Force Base. They are one of 5 operational Active Duty helicopter Squadrons in the US Air Force and the first Squadron to get the new HH-60W Combat Search & Rescue helicopter. They specialize in combat rescue of downed aircrews, survivor recovery, low-level formation, air refueling, medevac/casevac, close air support, and have supported launch operations in the past with the space shuttle and recently with the SpaceX launches as the alert recovery aircraft. They have also been involved with personal recovery following hurricanes, with the most recent being in the Bahamas after Hurricane Dorian.


What's your schedule like? I typically work from 8am until 4:30pm Monday through Friday, with holidays and weekends off. I see patients similar to a typical athletic training setting with treatments, evaluations, post-surgical rehab, etc. I'm embedded in the Squadron and get to bring my dog as our "mascot!" I collaborate with the Medical Group on base, specifically with the flight doctor assigned to our Rescue Group. I see patients, do notes in the military EMR system, and attend medical meetings.


What does your facility/ATR look like? I have an amazing room and set-up! I'm exceptionally lucky that the Squadron values what I do and who I am. I have a treatment area, rehab area, and recovery area. I have the typical equipment of treatment tables, rehab equipment/bands, stim/ultrasound/laser unit, hydroc unit, GameReady, Normatecs, Hypervolts, and more. Some not so typical equipment would be my mechanical cervical and lumbar traction unit, Biowave, Hivamat, SamSport, Jacobs Ladder, and I will soon be getting an Alter G Anti-Gravity Treadmill!


Have you been to any exciting locations/events with this job? I'm fortunate that I am able to travel a few times a year to some of the longer exercises that they go to. I recently returned from Las Vegas while they were participating in Red Flag which is a Large Force Exercise that simulates real world situations with various aircraft and personnel from around the world! I have been to Las Vegas a few times and to Tucson, AZ. When I travel, I stay where they stay and set up my room as a temporary treatment area. I bring a massage table and a few pelicans with a bunch of items to treat; such as Graston, Integrative Dry Needling, Myofascial Decompression, therapeutic exercises, massage, etc.


What do you like most about your job? I love the people and their mission. I say it all the time, it takes a special person to not only volunteer to serve their country, but someone who is willing to fly into danger, often getting shot at, to save someone's life they don't know is extraordinary. The Rescue Motto is, "That Others May Live" and they live and breathe that motto. I have been beyond fortunate that this job and previous one working with a National/Olympic Team has provided me the opportunity to support those representing this Country. What's better than that?!


Any advice for an AT who wants to work in this setting? There are AT jobs in almost all the branches (Space Force will probably get there soon!), each job/location/unit is different. There are ATs at the basic training, Special Operations, and Unit levels to name a few. Army has just put out a ton of jobs with the H2F (Holistic Health 2 Fitness) initiative, the Marine Corp plans on instituting more ATs at their unit levels, and the Air Force has in the last few years opened positions for almost all the Fighter units. My advice is to research, ask questions, and think about where you may want to be and who you may want to work with. Also review the job description and qualifications. Many military AT positions are asking for more credentials (CSCS, Graston, Dry Needling, etc) and several years experience at the collegiate, military, or National/Olympic Team levels. Learn the difference between contracting positions and Government Service (GS) positions. I also recommend being flexible! Most of the time I work 8-4:30, on work trips I may work from 2pm-11pm or later due to their flying schedules. Colleagues of mine work from 5:30am- 2pm, do sick call, are in the weight room with the Strength & Conditioning Coaches, aren't located in their units, etc.


Photo Credit: Airman Azaria E. Foster of the 23d Wing Public Affairs (Moody AFB - Valdosta, GA)




bottom of page