top of page
  • gatainfo

NATM Spotlight: Paul Higgs

For National Athletic Training Month in 2022 we are exploring the theme “Providing Health Care Everywhere” and we can’t think of a better way to do that than to showcase some of our own outstanding athletic trainers. We’ll spend the month sharing with you the inside scoop from athletic trainers who are working in emerging settings and unique positions. So read on and enjoy!

Paul Higgs MEd, LAT, ATC, CSCS, CEAS


Where did you go to school? Valdosta State—BSEd, Sports Medicine, 1989; Georgia Southwestern State University—MEd, Health and Physical Education, 1996


Current AT Setting: Director, Athletic Training Clinic in the VSU Center for Exercise Medicine and Rehabilitation (CEMR)


Employer: Valdosta State University


Years at current job: 3


Who are your “athletes”? I see an outpatient population of students, university employees, and community members—anyone can be referred to the clinic by a physician. I evaluate the patients, create a rehabilitation plan, and handle all of the documentation. Rehabilitation sessions are billed at a flat rate or I can file it on the patient’s insurance if they prefer.


What’s your schedule like? Part of my faculty position includes teaching in VSU’s Health Sciences major, but I manage the outpatient clinic around the class schedule. I control my schedule and it is much better now than my days working in college athletics! Having nights and weekends free is very enjoyable!


What does your facility/ATR look like? The Center for Exercise Medicine includes two divisions: 1 side is a Fitness/Wellness Center managed by certified exercise physiologist and my side, the Athletic Training Clinic. I have a full complement of therapeutic modalities and exercise equipment. I have the usual ultrasound, e-stim, etc, but I also have an Alter-G treadmill, a Biodex isokinetic unit, and a Biodex Balance System to incorporate into patient’s rehab programs. The CEMR is unique in the University System of Georgia in that it is not part of Student Health, Athletics, or Student Affairs. It is part of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences.


Have you been to any exciting locations/events with this job? I do not travel with this job, but I have had plenty of free time during the nights and weekends to travel!


What do you like most about your job? While working in college athletics for 20 years, I most enjoyed teaching in the classroom and getting to know patients in their rehabilitation programs. This job allows me to do both. I enjoy showing that athletic trainers are not limited to working on the sidelines with ball-carrying, jersey-wearing “athletes” but we are skilled in working with any physically active population.


Any advice for an AT who wants to work in this setting? A facility like CEMR this can exist on any university campus: making a positive impact in the community and generating revenue at the same time. Athletic trainers can work in this outpatient rehabilitation setting and do well. The hours and pay are good and it is very rewarding.




bottom of page